The Big Box

Layout in Storage Box

My layout will be stored in the garage. This stores bikes, sledges and a lot of dust too. Something to protect the layout seemed like a good idea. So using wood that I’ve kept ‘because it will be useful one day’ I’ve built a storage box.

It’s impressively large and sturdy. For example, the base is built of 10mm thick plywood. It will definitely do the job but it’s going to take up more space that I’d expected.

I dived into building this layout without much planning. That’s been great, because I have my first layout and I’ve learned from the mistakes I’ve made along the way. One key learning is, next time I build a layout I will think how I will store it, and what I will store it in, before I build it!

Leave a Reply

